Florida Minimum Wage Increasing to $15

Florida Minimum Wage Increasing to $15

In the past few years, Florida has experienced a dramatic increase in the cost of living. Because of this, Florida’s minimum wage for standard workers will increase to $12 per hour on September 30, 2023, with a steady $1 per hour increase each year until 2026. This means Florida’s minimum wage will increase to $15 per hour by September of 2026. The minimum wage for tipped workers will gradually increase through 2026 as well. By September of 2026 minimum wage for tipped workers will increase to $11.98 per hour. See the chart below for Florida’s minimum wage increase schedule. As a member of the workforce, it is important to understand this information so that you can advocate for yourself as these changes take place.

Effective Date Minimum Wage (Standard) Minimum Wage (Tipped)
September 30, 2023 $12 $8.98
September 30, 2024 $13 $9.98
September 30,2025 $14 $10.98
September 30, 2026 $15 $11.98


In 2027, the state will go back to using inflation rates to adjust minimum wage. To calculate future minimum wage increases beyond 2026, the Department for Economic Opportunity will use the Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers. 

An additional 26 states join Florida in increasing their minimum wage in 2023. “There’s quite a few states across the country that will be seeing quite big jumps in the minimum wage because of the higher rate of inflation this past year,” said Deirdre Kennedy, senior payroll analyst at Wolters Kluwer. Meanwhile, President Joe Biden has campaigned to raise the federal wage to $15 per hour.  In 2022, he signed an executive order raising the wage to that rate for federal workers and contractors. According to CNBC, this means 67,000 out of 2.2 million government employees received a raise due to this order. “As the largest employer in the country, how the federal government treats its workforce has real impact,” Kiran Ahuja, director of the Office of Personnel Management, said in a statement.  

There are some exceptions to minimum wage written into law. Federal Wage and Hour laws provide an exemption to certain employers who hire full-time students. Full-time high school or college students working up to 20 hours per week may receive 85% of the standard minimum wage. Similarly, a “Student Learners” program that applies to high school students of at least 16 years of age, who are enrolled in vocational education, allows for a minimum wage exemption. Certain employers can receive a certificate that allows them to pay as low as 75% of the minimum wage where the work is performed through this program. However, at employU, all those working an on-the-job training will receive at least the state minimum wage. With our Employment Specialists guidance and advocacy, employU will ensure fair wages are met for all our program participants. For more information on our on-the-job trainings visit https://employu.org/youth-paid-work-based-learning/ or contact us using the form below.  

Contact Us